Homework: Drink Wine

Your taxpayer dollars are contributing to my drinking education. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m taking a wine tasting course this semester at K-State. Each week, we try different varietals of wines and our homework is to buy a bottle of one of those varietals for and go through the tasting process. Life is difficult, yes?

This week we tasted your basic whites, which included Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, and Riesling. Here’s the info on the bottle I bought for the week:

2010 Poet’s Leap Riesling

Region: Columbia Valley

Price: $19.99

This wine was ranked #7 in Wine Enthusiasts “Top 100 Wines of the Year,” so I figured it would be a good pick. I was not disappointed.

This off-dry Riesling was packed full of fruit on the nose. These included fresh pear, pineapple, nectarine, and apricot. On the palate, the pear and nectarine stood out and the lemon-lime acidity made me salivate on contact. The wine was also chock full of minerals, reminiscent of wet stones. The finish was lengthy (lasted about 15 seconds on my tongue) and the balance of the complex flavors and aromas was superb.

Overall, this was one of the better-tasting wines I’ve had recently. I’m a huge fan of Rieslings and this was definitely worth the price of admission. If you’re a fan of whites or just getting into wine, I highly recommend giving this Poet’s Leap Riesling a try.

 

 

Leave a Reply

