Homework: Drink Wine — Odd Whites

As I mentioned in this week’s wine post, we tasted odd whites in class. That means homework was to find one of those wines and drink it!

Wine: 2009 Salomon Undhof Hochterrassen Gruner Veltliner

Price: $10.99

Region: Austria

On the Nose: This wine had a fantastic fruitiness on the nose. I smelled notes of grapefruit, pear, lemon, lime, pineapple, orange peel and toasted coconut, as well as a hint of wet slate.

On the Palate: Tasting confirmed the nose, although I was a little disappointed after the intensity of the fruit on the nose. The lemon and lime were very powerful, followed in punctuation by the pear and orange peel. I also tasted the toasted coconut, as it’s one of my favorite flavors in anything. It had a slight peppery taste to it as well.

Some other notes on the wine:

Acidity: 4/5 (My mouth was watering like crazy after tasting it.)

Dry/Sweet: 1/2 (quite dry)

Body: 2/3 (a little creaminess to it)

Balance: 2/3 (The lemon and lime overpowered a lot of the other flavors on the palate.)

Finish: 2

Complexity: 3 (A lot going on on the nose but not quite as much on the palate.)

Overall, this was a pretty good wine for the price. I drank it with some honey crackers and havarti cheese, and it really brought out some of the flavors in the wine.

Valentine’s Day Bonus!

This weekend, my significant other and I had our early Valentine’s Day. It was a fantastic, relaxing day filled with cooking, watching movies, and drinking wine. One of the wines we tasted was of particular note, and as a Valentine’s Day bonus, I’m going to tell you about it.

Wine: 2007 Josef Leitz Rudesheimer Berg Scholssberg Riesling Spatlese

Price: I’m not sure on this. We got it for $20, but our wine instructor, who distributes for the area, told us the liquor store made a huge pricing error on it. I’ve seen a few sites with the wine and they have it in stock for $40-$50.

In short, it was one of the greatest, most refreshing wines I have ever tasted. I’m basically going off memory here since I wasn’t exactly taking notes in the middle of our Valentine’s Day meal.

The nose didn’t have a ton of fruit on it, but plum, lemon zest, and a sweet corn aroma definitely stood out. The wine also smelled a tad smoky, with some cinnamon and shellfish to top it off.

On the palate, the wine was absolutely delectable. Perfect balance of the fruits and sweet corn mingled exceptionally with the spicy, slightly tangy finish. Delicious.

Comments
One Response to “Homework: Drink Wine — Odd Whites”
  1. gracefullygf says:

    Finding odd wines,how fun! Especially for homework. The first one sounds great (ok, the second one did too, but it’s a little pricey for my budget. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

